вторник, 10 июня 2008 г.

Central jazz group wins honors at NSU

School bands performing this afternoon in Bismarck

The Central High School Jazz Bands have started their competitive season.

On Jan. 24, the bands performed at the Northern State University Jazz Festival. The Jazz Central Station jazz band, directed by Dennis McDermott, took first place at the festival. The group also received the Best Rhythm Section and Best Trumpet Section awards.

Today, both jazz bands will travel to the University of Mary Jazz Festival in Bismarck, N.D. In Bismarck, Jazz Express will perform at 1:30 p.m. The group will play "Who Let the Cats In?" by Paul Clark with soloists Reid Turner, Alyssa Weber, Josh Opp, Denham McDermott and Bryce Job; "Rachel is Boss" by Paul Ferguson, featuring soloist Courtney Fischer; "Fudge Said the Judge" by Les Taylor, with soloists Turner, McDermott, Job, Opp and Taylor Johnson, and "Pressure Cooker" by John Tatgenhorst, featuring soloists Johnson and Jeanna Jerde.

Jazz Central Station will perform at 2:30 p.m. That group will play "And Another Thing" by Tom Garling, "Life of the Party" by Bob Mintzer, "In Her Family" by Pat Metheny and "North Shore Morning" by Matt Harris.

On March 4, both jazz bands will compete at the Augustana Jazz Festival in Sioux Falls, and on April 3 they will be part of the University of Minnesota/Morris Jazz Competition.

On Monday, April 14, at 7:30 p.m., the Central Jazz Bands will hosting the first-ever Aberdeen Central All-City Jazz Band concert in the Thomas F. Kelly Theatre.

Members of the 2008 Jazz Central Station Jazz Band, directed by McDermott, are saxophonists Megan Mehlhoff, Matt Hanson, Bret Dahme, Jordan Doerr and Justin Fischer; trumpeters Chrissy Hodney, Ryan Hopfinger, Paul Fellbaum, Jordan Decker and Kyle Stugelmayer, trombonists Robert Klein, Jed Dumire, Ryan Parker and Mariah Stolle, bass player Andrew Grandpre, pianist Ricky Faflak, guitarist Alex Walter and percussionist Mike Wager.

Members of the 2008 Jazz Express Jazz Band, under the direction of Jerome Letcher, are saxophonists Taylor Johnson, Courtney Fischer, Alexis Burckhard, Emily Davis and Alyssa Weber; trumpeters Kirstie Triden, Jeanna Jerde, Caleb Halvorson and Sam Haglund; trombonists Erik Kringen, Yaseen Ikrahmullah, Jordan Gese and Tyler Fischer; bass player Denham McDermott, pianist Reid Turner, guitarist Josh Opp and percussionists Bryce Job and Alec Ness.

Комментариев нет: